top of page

Where the f**k is Blönduós?: Driving and surviving a winter in Iceland

by Emma Strandberg

 

SYNOPSIS

Having survived a terrifying burglary, Emma had reached a point in life where she feared being awake and dreaded falling asleep. She grabbed her late mother’s notebooks, packed her car with warm clothes, a swimsuit that had seen better days, a set of winter tyres and a brand new tent, and caught a ferry to Iceland. Surtsey was an unexpected eruption - just as my own birth was unplanned and something of an interruption. So captivated by the magic of Iceland, our mother returned home with a bar of Toblerone for each of us. There were no hugs or questions as to our welfare. My sisters and I had been alone for three weeks. I was almost 5 years old. Inspired by a six-month journey to Iceland in wintertime, “Where the f**k is Blönduós?” is moving, honest, and entertaining. Why would a middle-aged woman choose to spend a winter alone in the far north of Iceland? It’s a fair question, though the answer isn’t quite so straightforward. I dreamed of lying on a blanket gazing up into the night sky, holding my breath in anticipation of the colourful aurora that may soon dance overhead, without being asked, “Will you be long?” By battling the elements, conquering her fears, and learning to knit, all under the watchful gaze of the small community, Emma made sense of the past, found peace with the present, and felt strong enough to deal with the future.


 

REVIEW


Emma Strandberg needed a change of scenery. Never the type of person to be tied down, she decided to pack up everything she owned, sell her house and travel to a small and isolated town in Iceland called Blönduós for six months. This story documents every part of her journey - from her reasons for planning the trip, her initial reaction to the town, the people she meets, places she sees and how the experience changed her as she spent more and more time away from her normal life.


I am a huge fan of Nordic Noir and particularly of Icelandic Crime Fiction. One day I would love to travel to Iceland and explore some of the landmarks and places I have read so much about. Even though this book is a bit different to my normal reading choices, I was excited to read a first-hand account of one of the countries I am so desperate to visit in the future. The funny thing though, is that despite wanting to read about Iceland, I thought maybe this would be a travel memoir that I could dip in and out of. I wasn't sure if all of the chapters would be of interest but I seriously underestimated this book! I honestly didn't think that I would be so gripped by one person's need to get away and try something new and challenging, but I couldn't put it down!


There is so much more depth to this book than you would imagine. It's got a bit of everything - a historical family mystery, travel, self exploration, grief, humour, an insight into different cultures and even a practical aspect. I would never have thought that I would intently read through a 'must have' packing list for a holiday in Iceland, but I did!


Beautifully written and incredibly inspiring - Where the f**k is Blönduós? has made me even more determined to visit the breathtaking scenery, wildlife and of course, the Aurora in Iceland. However, I will be taking one tip and avoiding the ferry at all costs!


 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Travel has been an integral part of my life. From the Amazon to Alexandria, Burma to Brunei, Cambodia to Kashmir, Greenland to Zimbabwe. My curiosity to travel together with my passion for nature and the great outdoors inspires much of my work.


My debut novel Fully Booked, first published in April 2016, tells of my personal journey of renovating an old property on the west coast of Sweden in the middle of a winter where temperatures dipped to minus 22, and how I went on to live my dream of owning and running a bed and breakfast. The second edition was published in September2023.

My latest title, Where the f**k is Blönduós? Driving and Surviving a Winter in Iceland, is now available. For more information on the author visit: emmastrandbergbooks.com


 

Thanks to Palmedes @palmedespr and Emma Strandberg @emmastrandbergbooks for the opportunity to read and review.



Fiction: Non Fiction / Travel / Memoir

ISBN: 978-1803697437

Pages: 216pp

bottom of page