top of page

Tristan / Yseult

by Harry Bonelle

 

SYNOPSIS

A duel on an empty island sets the course for one of the greatest romances ever told. As the lovers of legend meet, something new is born, and something eternal is revealed. Their names will forever be spoken as one. This modern retelling of Tristan and Yseult sheds a stark light on the beauty of the Celtic tale.


 

REVIEW


Most people who follow my blog or reviews will be surprised at this choice but I have a very personal connection to the story of Tristan/Yseult, or Trystan ac Esyllt, as I first discovered it. As a Welsh speaker, a few years ago I enrolled on an evening course studying Welsh History and Culture. We looked at traditional 'chwedlau' or folk tales, the more well known stories of the Mabinogion, and also Trystan ac Esyllt. These stories have stayed with me ever since and I actually ended up naming my daughter Esyllt (or in other countries this name is sometimes known as Isolde) after the character.


I will be the first to admit that I am not an expert in poetry but it was beautifully written, it flowed so easily and wasn't difficult to read at all. I think that because I was already familiar with the story of Tristan/Yseult, I was able to jump straight in and enjoy something that is very different to my normal reading choices. The explanation at the beginning of the book from the author talked about his inspiration coming from the opera, and in particular the music. This came through in the text so strongly because it felt very lyrical and this also was a nice link back to the Welsh version of the text which has that same feel because of the 'sing-song' style of the Welsh language.


The book itself is a petite hardback and it is absolutely stunning. The quality of the paper stock, the printing and the gorgeous watercolour used on the cover were all fantastic quality and it would make the perfect gift for anyone who enjoys this genre.


 

Thanks to Random Things Tours @RandomTTours and Unicorn Publishing @unicornpubgroup for the opportunity to read and review.

Fiction: Poetry / Celtic

Publisher: Unicorn Publishing

ISBN: 978-1911397908

Pages: 80pp

bottom of page